City Government

Kensington City Government

Kensington City Council

Mayor: Jim Schecker

Council Members:
Brian Randt
Sheila Lanners
Amy Eystad
Dale Rau

Clerk: Jennifer Kangas

Treasurer: Pryce Score

City Address:
P.O. Box 156 Kensington, MN 56343

Phone: (320) 965-2500

The City Council meets the first Monday of each month (if the first Monday is a holiday, the meeting will be held the second Monday) at 7pm in the meeting room in the Community Center.

City Services

Garbage pickup is every Tuesday morning. Recycling pickup is the second Wednesday of every month. Water/sewer/garbage is billed monthly and due on the 10th of every month.

Police protection is provided by the Douglas County Sheriff’s Department.

Farwell-Kensington Sanitary District:
A legal entity which was formed to develop wastewater for the two cities, and water for Kensington. The Farwell-Kensington Sanitary District Board meets on the 1st Thursday of every month. Board members are Pryce Score, Chairman; Jennifer Kangas, Secretary/Treasurer; and Bob Olson, Karin Anderson, Todd Eystad and Joey Nessman.

Fire Protection and First Responder Medical Service is provided by the Kensington Fire and Rescue Department.
Fire Chief: Joey Nessman